Our mission is to educate townspeople and visitors about the history of Bolton, Lake George and the surrounding region. The museum displays extensive collections of regional artifacts and memorabilia and we sponsor a summer lecture series with the Darrin Fresh Water Institute in Bolton Landing.


Our Rich History

The Historical Society of the Town of Bolton began operating the Historical Museum in 1971. The Museum building, a former church, was built in 1890 and underwent several additions and extensive restorations long before it was deeded to the Town of Bolton in 1967 by the Roman Catholic Diocese of Albany.


The Museum

The New York State Education Department granted our Historical Society its charter on July 31, 1970. It is governed by elected officers and a Board of Trustees. Recently the building underwent new renovations and several roof additions in preparations for the 1999 Town of Bolton Bicentennial celebrations.


Historical Society

The Historical Society of the Town of Bolton received its charter from the New York State Education Department in 1970. Two years prior to the issuance of the charter the Roman Catholic Church of the Albany Diocese gave the recently deconsecrated Church of the Blessed Sacrament to the Town of Bolton. The former church, built in 1890, is now the Historical Society Museum and houses a substantial collection of materials relative to the rich history of the Town of Bolton and the surrounding area.

The goals of the Historical Society are fivefold:


to bring together people interested in local history,


to locate and preserve any materials that may relate to the natural, civil, artistic, and ecclesiastical history of the Town and its environs,


to display collections and to make available for researchers artifacts, books, manuscripts, papers, photographs, and records,


to disseminate information relative to the history of the Town of Bolton and


to identify and mark places of historic interest in the Town and to encourage the preservation of historic sites and buildings.


Our Officers & Trustees



Henry Caldwell, President

Lisa H. Hall, Vice President

Connie Reilly, Treasurer

Museum Director

Jaclyn Andersen


Fred Brown

Jeanne Brown

Edgar Caldwell, Co-Town Historian

Kathy Conover

Zandy Gabriels

William P. Gates, Co-Town Historian

James M. Miller

Edmund Scheiber

Reuben Smith